In need of immediate snack fest on return from work this afternoon, I had toast with raspberry jam.  I finished off the last of last year’s on one slice, and had my first taste of yesterday’s on the other.  Well now, I don’t want to blow my own trumpet or anything, but I have to say, yesterday’s is absolutely yummy!  I guess the fruit was perfect, and really fresh, and I resisted the temptation to “just give it another couple of minutes” on the old rolling boil, so it has a really good consistency – not too firm.

Recipe is dead easy – equal weight of raspberries and sugar (you probably need at least 1 lb of each to make it worth while).  Put both in a big pan – need lots of stirring space.  Heat gently until sugar dissolves and the fruit goes all mushy.  Then whack up the heat and keep it on that frothing, scary rolling boil – at just a little less than “oh-my-God-it’s-going-to-go-over-the-top-of-the-pan” for ten minutes (says  5-7 mins in my book, but it’s always longer than that – though I’m usually doing larger batches which is probably why).  Before you start, stick a small plate in the fridge, and when it’s nice and cold, drop a spoonful of your jam onto it to test the consistency – when it wrinkles when you push it with the spoon, you’re done.  Pour into clean jars (warmed in the oven), and cover with those little waxed paper discs, and seal.  Those lids with the pop-up bits in the middle are great (I try to save the ones without brand names emblazoned everywhere!) – the button will be sucked down as the jam cools, thereby proving you have it properly sealed.

It’s universally agreed that I can’t cook, but I think I can now safely say, I can make jam!  😉

