So, the other night on the telly I saw someone making their own fat balls (for the birds!) and thought I’d do the same, using up two huge bags of red currants which have been taking up a whole drawer in the freezer since I picked them in the summer.

It looked like a cute sort of thing to do – but I’d not taken into account the rather unpleasant smell of lard coupled with the fact of it being New Years Day and the whole having been out celebrating last night thang….  Well, suffice it to say, the process rather turned my stomach.  Plus, given all the juice from the red currants, the kitchen does look like a homicidal maniac has been let loose in it!  But still, I now have two trays of – rather festive – fat balls for the birds.  All I can say is they’d better blooming appreciate my efforts! 😉

