The short answer is, it’s about being green, but not just green! 

Slightly Turquoise stands for everyday environmental ethics, but it’s also about creativity, education, self-sufficiency, and pleasure.

Last year I read How to be Free by Tom Hodgkinson, and whilst I might not have agreed with everything in the book, I found myself for the most part in tune with his philosophy.  I’ve long been interested in green issues, but Tom’s book was not just about living a more simple (and ethically sound) lifestyle, but also about quality of life, creativity and simplicity, and getting back to the essence of life. 

Since reading the book, I’ve done quite a bit of thinking and the following would sum up what, for me, life should be:

  • simple
  • stress free
  • sustainable
  • satisfying

There’s probably plenty of other words I could add to the list, but I think four is a workable number for starters! 

I’ve also been inspired by William Morris – both by his beautiful art and craft designs, and by his philosophy on life.  I’ve always liked his maxim that you should never have in your house any object that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.  With a minor alteration, this could apply to life too – do not spend your time doing anything which you do not know to be useful or believe to be fun!

For more info on Tom’s philosophy of life,or the work of the William Morris Society, click on the links.

For more posts on any of the above issues, and probably a few more besides, keep visiting Slightly Turquoise!

